Tags

, ,

Today I read a blog post that my lecturer had linked to and I found it extremely interesting! So I thought I would share it with you. 

This blog post by Mr Salsich is about learning and specifically about how teachers learn. He talks about how many teachers don’t really know how to learn for themselves. We are all so used to having others spoon feed us the information and show us step by step how to do something that we can’t function and learn on our own. 

This is a big problem! The world of ICTs is constantly changing and growing and teachers cannot rely on PD to learn about them all. Self-directed learning is what we as teachers need to be able to do. We need to know how to figure things out for ourselves and how to learn about new ICTs and how to use them. I want to teach my own students how to self-direct their learning  but I can’t do that until I know how to learn by myself. 

Thankfully there are some great resources out there. Search engines such as Google and Youtube can teach us about new ICTs and websites such as Facebook, Twitter and blogs can help us connect with a teaching community. 

Even though I have grown up with ICTs, I still find it difficult to figure some things out. However, I think I am on the way to being a self-directed learner who can use tools and colleagues to find answers and find ways of using ICTs in the classroom. 

